RR #99: Prepare the Prisoner
Prepare the Prisoner
Seeds or plays on table. Captives you Brainwash are not required to relocate to an outpost. Opponent's Rescue Captives card affects only captives at one location where opponent has a crew or Away Team (rescued personnel relocate to that crew or Away Team). Each turn, you may draw one card by placing one capturing-related card from your hand beneath your draw deck or discard pile.
Rule hint for this card
This card has an clarification:
See capturing related.Taken form Glossary - Version 1.9.2.
This Card-Review was written by Kathy McCracken and was published first on "Major Rakals Tal Shiar Headquarters (members.cox.net/majorrakal)" at May 27th, 2000.
This article is part of the article serie "Romulan Review" from "Major Rakal (Kathy Mc Kracken)". Also see:
- Previous "Romulan Review" (# 98): "RR #98: 6th Rule of Acquisition".
- Next "Romulan Review" (# 100): "RR #100: Major Rakal's STCCG Mission Rating System".
Aefvadh! In the past, there weren't many ways to capture personnel, and not much you could do with them. That all changed when Blaze of Glory supplied a host of new ways to take and use captives. One card in particular should be the cornerstone of any capture-oriented deck...
Prepare the Prisoner
This handy seedable objective solves three problems with a heavily capture-oriented strategy, without giving away your strategy until you're ready (because it's a hidden agenda).
Brainwash specifically makes the Brainwashed captive "report to your outpost," and it isn't optional. That was a necessity when captives were placed off the spaceline in a separate "captive area" (otherwise, how would they get back to the spaceline?), but now that captives either remain under a trap card or are escorted by your personnel, it can be a major nuisance, or even make Brainwash impossible if you prefer a headquarters or station to an outpost. Prepare the Prisoner eliminates that requirement (but still allows it if that's actually what you want). If he's already aboard your ship, you won't need to go back to the outpost pick him up to use him in your crew. On the other hand, if he's in a remote location (another quadrant, for example), you can still use Brainwash's "magic transport" to bring him closer to you.
If you want to take a lot of captives, you aren't going to want your opponent to be able to release the whole lot by playing a single Rescue Captives, without ever coming within shooting range of your ships. Prepare the Prisoner requires him to bring his own crew or Away Team to the location where you are holding his people captive, and then only releases the ones at that location. Keep some on your ships and some at your facilities, and he'll need as many Rescue Captives cards as you have "holding" locations. Bringing his ship to your location also opens him up to commandeering with Outgunned (if you have enough WEAPONS massed at that location).
The final function is probably the most important. With so many nifty capturing-related cards to choose from, you may find your deck a little cluttered with them, and start drawing cards that you can't use at the moment. Prepare the Prisoner keeps those cards from being a liability by letting you recycle them. For example, you don't need Brainwash, Interrogation or Torture until you actually have some captives to mess with. Place that currently-unwanted Interrogation under your deck and draw a replacement card that might be more useful right now, like a Prisoner Escort or Ilon Tandro. Or perhaps you've Regenerated your discard pile, including all those Mandarin Bailiffs and Extraditions you used to take captives. When one comes into your hand, send it back to your discard pile and draw something you can use.
What is a "capturing-related card"? According to the Blaze of Glory rules sheet, it's any card that either takes captives or specifically affects captives. The Current Rulings will broaden that slightly a few days from now; the new definition will include a card that prevents captives from being taken, specifically allows a captive to be used in any way, has an effect based on a captive being taken or escorted, or downloads, nullifies or modifies another specific (named) capturing-related card. That covers a pretty broad spectrum, from personnel with capturing skills (like Tog) to cards that turn your captives into infiltrators (E-Band Emissions) to dilemmas and interrupts that allow capture (like Romulan Ambush) to cards that rescue captives (like Bribery) to personnel who download Brainwash or Torture (Chief O’Brien, Gul Madred). A card that takes captives must use some form of the word capture or captive to qualify; Penalty Box, for example, is not a capturing-related card even though it holds a personnel. Also, a card that takes captives must allow a player to take the captives; Alien Abduction is not capturing-related because the personnel is "held captive by aliens," not by the opponent. Check out the complete list of capturing-related cards on my website.
The Major's Combos:
- Prepare the Prisoner + Cardassian Trap + Brainwash + E-Band Emissions: Since you don't have to be escorting the captive to Brainwash him, use Prepare the Prisoner to keep him from relocating to your outpost, leaving him on the planet with your opponent's "stopped" Away Team for immediate infiltration.
- Prepare the Prisoner + Tharket: Keep Tharket with your most important batch of captives. Make your opponent come to you to play Rescue Captives, then nullify it.
- Prepare the Prisoner + Frame of Mind + Reflection Therapy: Recycle all your Brainwash and Interrogation cards, but keep a Reflection Therapy in hand to download one of the recycled cards when you need it.