RR #56: Facilitating understanding of Facilities; Part 2: Where?
This Strategy-Note was written by Kathy McCracken (aka Major Rakal) and was published first on "Decipher's Website (decipher.com)" at Aug 21st, 1998.
This article is part of the article serie "Romulan Review" from "Major Rakal (Kathy Mc Kracken)". Also see:
- Previous "Romulan Review" (# 55): "RR #55: Facilitating understanding of Facilities; Part 1: How Many".
- Next "Romulan Review" (# 57): "RR #57: Facilitating understanding of Facilities; Part 3: Who and What?".
Aefvadh! After "How many can I seed?", the next most common question is, "Where can I establish a facility?" Not quite as simple as it seems, some restrictions are explicitly stated on the cards, while others are only given in the rules and easy to overlook. Also, the location where you place a facility isn't quite the same as "where the facility is located." Let's look at all these nuances in one place in part 2 of the series...
FACILITATING UNDERSTANDING OF FACILITIES, PART 2: WHERE?
There are several restrictions on the locations at which you may establish a facility. Unless otherwise specified, all placement restrictions apply to both seeding and building.
Three rules apply to all facilities, including the "non-reporting" facilities such as Terraforming Station and Colony:
First, you may not seed or build a facility where you already have one. So you can't place two outposts, or an outpost and a Nor, at one location; and you can't build a Colony on a mission where you have any other facility. It's OK if your opponent has a facility at the same location as one of yours, however. Also, you could move your space facility (with Reaction Control Thrusters) to a location where you already have another facility. A specific card text may allow two facilities at the same location, overriding this rule. For example, Chamber of Ministers (the Bajoran headquarters) says "A Nor may co-exist here," so you could seed both Chamber of Ministers and Deep Space 9 / Terok Nor at Bajor (but not the generic Nor, which may not be placed at a Bajor Region location).
Second, it doesn't matter who seeded the mission where you establish a facility. If the mission fits the requirements for your facility, you may place it there.
Third, facilities may be seeded only in the matching quadrant. If a facility has no quadrant icon, it belongs to the Alpha Quadrant. Gamma and Delta Quadrant facilities will have those quadrant icons. Facilities which may be built later may be built in a non-matching quadrant (but cards may not report there).
- Affiliated outposts may be established at either space or planet missions, but the mission must have a matching affiliation icon. For example, you can't place a Romulan Outpost at a Klingon-only mission. If there is no affiliation icon on the mission, you can't seed or build an affiliated outpost there, even if it may be attempted by "any crew" or "any Away Team."
- The Klaestron Outpost is unusual because it has two affiliation icons - it's a dual-affiliation card, like Major Rakal or The Emissary. But thatdoesn't mean you need both icons on the mission where you seed it. Like any dual-affiliation card, you declare an affiliation when you seed or play it, and that must match one affiliation icon on the mission. (You can switch its affiliation later as a game action.)
- Husnock Outposts may be seeded (not built) at either planet or space missions, but only if the mission has a Non-Aligned icon. Like affiliated outposts, they may not be seeded at "any crew/Away Team" missions; the mission must have the icon.
- Neutral Outposts may be established only at space missions, but that can be any space mission. Because a Neutral Outpost has no affiliation icon, the mission obviously cannot and does not have to have a matching icon, so you may place one at an "any crew" mission or even at one of the unattemptable universal Space or Nebula missions.
- No outpost of any kind may be established at a homeworld, even if the affiliation icon matches your outpost. Homeworlds are all identified in the mission lore as the homeworld of a specific affiliation (Earth for Federation, Romulus for Romulan, etc.). They are also listed in the Deep Space Nine rulebook in the glossary under "homeworlds." Because homeworlds belong to an affiliation, Symbiont Diagnosis, located at Trill, is not a homeworld in game terms; the Trills are not an affiliation in the game.
Each headquarters card specifies the homeworld on which you may seed or play it. For example, Central Command "Seeds or plays on Cardassia Prime." That is the mission Orb Negotiations, whose lore gives its location as Cardassia Prime.
Each station card specifies where it may be seeded or played.
- Terraforming Station may be seeded (but not played) on any planet mission.
- Colony may be played (but not seeded) on a planet mission that you completed.
- Deep Space Nine/Deep Space 9 / Terok Nor seeds at a Bajor Region location. The "generic" Nor seeds or plays at a mission with a affiliation icon, but not one in the Bajor Region. The Nors are not restricted to either planet or space missions.
I mentioned in the introduction that the location where you seed the facility does not necessarily correspond to "where the facility is located." Here I am talking about the question, "Is this facility physically located in space or on a planet?"
- If a facility says it seeds or plays on a planet (any planet, or a specific planet), then it is physically located on the planet, that is, it is a "planet facility." This includes Colony, Terraforming Station and Headquarters cards.
- All other facilities are physically located in space, that is, they are "space facilities." They may be at a planet location (a planet mission), in which case the facility is orbiting the planet. This includes all outposts and Nors.
In Part 3, we'll look at who can use a facility and what you can report there.