RR #55: Facilitating understanding of Facilities; Part 1: How Many | openCards

RR #55: Facilitating understanding of Facilities; Part 1: How Many

This Strategy-Note was written by Kathy McCracken (aka Major Rakal) and was published first on "Decipher's Website (decipher.com)" at Aug 20th, 1998.

This article is part of the article serie "Romulan Review" from "Major Rakal (Kathy Mc Kracken)". Also see:

Aefvadh! Almost a year ago (how time flies!), I wrote two reviews on the use of outposts. Three months later, First Contact Expansion came out with simplified outpost seeding rules and made those reviews largely obsolete. I kept meaning to update them, but now I'm glad I didn't, because by now DS9 would have made the updates obsolete.

Just when you thought you understood outposts, you have to deal with new types of facilities called Nors (a type of station) and headquarters, where cards can also report for duty, but which have somewhat different rules than outposts. The Nors require site cards to actually use the station's capabilities. To make matters even more complicated, your opponent can use your Nor or headquarters! All this has raised lots of questions, so without further ado, let's get on with the first in a series...

FACILITATING UNDERSTANDING OF FACILITIES, PART 1: HOW MANY?

1. HOW MANY facilities may you SEED, and of what type?
THE most asked question about facilities, and the answer is a lot less complicated than it used to be. Simply put, you may seed any facilities for which you satisfy the requirements on the card, and for which appropriate locations exist. Some you may only seed one copy of, others may be seeded in multiples. If you meet the requirements to seed six facilities, you may seed six facilities.

Outposts:
You may seed only one copy of any affiliated outpost, and only if you are playing that affiliation, because all affiliated outposts say "Seed one if playing ..." But you are not restricted to one outpost per affiliation. See the example at the end.

Anyone may seed one Neutral Outpost, regardless of what other outposts you may seed, because it does not require you to be playing any affiliation. But you may only seed one, because it says "Seed one...".

Anyone may seed any number of Husnock Outposts, because it neither says "Seed one" nor requires you to be playing any affiliation (or non-aligned).

Headquarters:
Headquarters cards don't say "Seed one...", but each one does say "Not duplicatable." That means only one may be in play in the game (both players) at any time.

While headquarters have affiliation icons which govern what cards may report to the facility, there is no restriction on who may seed them - Central Command doesn't say "...if playing Cardassian." For example, you could seed Central Command even with no other cards of Cardassianaffiliation in your deck. You could still report Non-Aligned cards there, including playing the Non-Aligned Guls for free.

Stations:
Station cards are not restricted to "seeding one," so you may seed more than one "generic" Nor or Terraforming Station if appropriate locations exist. (Colony's text does not allow it to be seeded.) However, Deep Space 9 / Terok Nor/Deep Space 9 / Terok Nor is "Not duplicatable," and because the two sides are instances of the same station "persona" (Deep Space 9 has "Terok Nor" in bold type in its lore), there may be only one Deep Space 9 or Terok Nor in play in the game at any time, for both players.

Like headquarters, Nors have affiliation icons which govern what cards may report to them (and additionally require site cards for reporting), but they may be seeded by any player regardless of which affiliation(s) he is playing.

2. How many facilities may you build during the game?
The rules above apply only to seeding facilities - placing them during the seed phase. You may build as many facilities as you wish during the game (as long as they say they may be played or built later; for example, the Husnock Outpost and Deep Space 9/Terok Nor may only be seeded), as long as you meet any stated requirements such as having an appropriate ENGINEER at the location, and do not duplicate a non-duplicatable facility. Unless a facility says it is "Not duplicatable," it is assumed to be "universal" (you may have multiple copies in play). Building any facility during the play phase uses your normal card play for a turn.

3. How many facilities MUST you seed or include in your deck?
You are not required to seed (or include in your deck) any minimum number or type of facilities; in fact, you may seed none at all if you have another way to play personnel.

4. What does it mean to be "playing an affiliation"?
You are "playing an affiliation" if you have at least one personnel or ship card of that affiliation in your deck (seed cards + draw deck). It can be a dual-affiliation card, and you don't have to actually report or use the personnel as that affiliation. Cards in a side deck do not count, but seeded personnel do.

So what does all this mean for the average player? Let's look at a couple of examples. Assume in each case that appropriate locations exist for the facilities in question; I'll just be looking at how many facilities you could seed based on what affiliations you are playing and the number restrictions on the facility cards.

First, some card text excerpts:

  • Federation Outpost: "Seed one if playing Federation."
  • Cardassian Outpost: "Seed one if playing Cardassian."
  • Klaestron Outpost: "Seed one if playing both Federation and Cardassian."
  • Neutral Outpost: "Seed one at any Space location."
  • Husnock Outpost: "Seed at any Affiliation Non-Aligned location."
  • Central Command: "Seeds or plays on Cardassia Prime."
  • Terok Nor: "Seeds at a Bajor Region location."
  • Nor: "Seeds or plays at any Affiliation Cardassian location (except a Bajor Region location)."

Example 1: I'm playing a Cardassian deck (with or without Non-Aligned personnel). I can seed:

  • 1 Cardassian Outpost
  • 1 Neutral Outpost
  • multiple Husnock Outposts (if there are multiple Affiliation Non-Aligned missions)
  • 1 Central Command (if my opponent didn't seed one first)
  • 1 Terok Nor (if my opponent didn't seed either Deep Space 9 or Terok Nor first)
  • multiple Nors

Example 2: I'm playing a Federation deck (with or without Non-Aligned personnel). I can seed:

  • 1 Federation Outpost
  • 1 Neutral Outpost
  • multiple Husnock Outposts (if there are multiple Affiliation Non-Aligned missions)
  • 1 Central Command (if my opponent didn't seed one first)
  • 1 Terok Nor (if my opponent didn't seed either Deep Space 9 or Terok Nor first)
  • multiple Nors

Those last three may look strange in a Federation deck, and I may not be able to make full use of them, but nothing prevents me from seeding them!

Example 3: I'm playing a Federation deck with Garak (Cardassian/Non-Aligned). I can seed:

  • everything in the previous example, plus
  • 1 Klaestron Outpost
  • 1 Cardassian Outpost