Orb of Prophecy and Change
Use as Equipment card. Once each turn, you may glance at the top card of your draw deck. Insert it anywhere within your draw deck if you wish. (Not duplicatable.)
Rule hint for this card
This card has an clarification:
On this artifact, “Insert it anywhere within your draw deck” refers to the top card of your draw deck that you just looked at, not the Orb itself.Taken form Glossary - Version 1.9.2.
Card logging info: Logged by openCards team at May 1st, 2009.
This Card-Review article was written by Kathy McCracken and was published first on "Major Rakals Tal Shiar Headquarters (members.cox.net/majorrakal)" at May 29th, 1997.
This article is part of the article serie "Romulan Review" from "Major Rakal (Kathy Mc Kracken)". Also see:
- Previous "Romulan Review" (# 22): "RR #22: Dr. Telek R'Mor".
- Next "Romulan Review" (# 24): "RR #24: Thomas Paris & Nick Locarno".
Aefvadh! Only one Anthology preview card is not a personnel; rather, an unusual artifact, the first to come from Deep Space Nine. A glimpse of the future, perhaps?
ORB OF PROPHECY AND CHANGE
This acts a bit differently from other Artifacts. Because it used as an Equipment card, it goes immediately into the Away Team when earned at a completed mission. It doesn't have to be played from your hand later. But it doesn't have to be "present" at any particular location or with anyone or anything in order to be used. In effect, it acts like an Event that plays on the table and then "allows" its effect to occur. But since it doesn't play as an Event, it's immune to Kevin Uxbridge.
However, it is vulnerable to a Disruptor Overload. You could afford it some protection by acquiring a Mona Lisa and keeping them together; this should deter Disruptor Overloads, as they would risk losing 25 points if it gets the wrong one. But there is a much simpler way to protect the Orb, at least for now: Disruptor Overloads play on a ship or on an Away Team. They do not play on an outpost. So...hustle your newly found Orb back to your outpost (if not already there), and leave it behind. The only way for your opponent to destroy it would be to destroy the outpost, so you might want to drop a Plasmadyne Relay or two there. Watch out for Vorgon Raiders, because they could steal it regardless of location.
Because the Orb is non-duplicatable, if your opponent seeds one also and gets to his first, you're out of luck. When you complete your mission and recover the Orb, it has to be discarded, because there can't be two in play.
Now, what is this Orb good for? Well, how many times have you wanted to take a peek at what you're going to draw next, wondering if you should just wait one more turn for a crucial personnel, ship, or interrupt to appear? Can you take a chance on a Devidian Door coming up next? The Orb of Prophecy and Change lets you do that.
But more than that, if what you see isn't something you need or can use right now, it lets you bury it anywhere in your deck. If you will need it in a couple of turns, you can custom-place it to come up whenever you want it. If, on the other hand, you realize you have no use whatsoever for it in this game (say, an anti-Fed card and your opponentis playing Klingons), put it at the bottom of the deck.
A particular use of this feature might be if you are affected by a Static Warp Bubble and are down to no cards in your hand. Check the top card before your draw; if it's one that you would not be able to, or do not want to, play on your next turn, but will want later, "delay" it by placing it further down so you won't be forced to discard it. The next card might be a similar situation, but you will have saved one card for later use.
A particularly good use of this card is in conjunction with playing a Q’s Tent for random retrieval. When you do this, not only do you not get a card draw this turn, but you place the Q's Tent on top of your draw deck, so you redraw it on your next turn. Maybe that's what you want, but what if you want a "real" card draw instead, and want to retrieve the Q's Tent later? Just put off glancing at the top card until after you've placed the Tent back on your draw deck. Then when you look at it, you get to bury it wherever you want, and your next card is a regular draw. Careful placement of the tent within your deck will let you space out its re-use at whatever intervals you desire.
One warning: watch out for Subspace Schisms! If you don't bury a card after looking at it, your opponent can assume it's one you want to draw, and can force you to lose it with a Schism.
The Major's Combo:
- Orb of Prophecy and Change + Q's Tent (what else?).